Skip to content

How does DiffGuardian compare to GitHub Copilot code review?

Last updated October 5, 2026

DiffGuardian is a desktop app that helps you understand a pull request: it reads it against the whole repository, splits it into the features it ships, and lets you read it, hear it or see what it touches. GitHub Copilot code review is a feature of GitHub Copilot that posts an automated review, with suggested fixes, directly on a pull request on GitHub. Tools like that find and flag problems for you; DiffGuardian is built to keep you in the code and help you understand it quickly.

#How they compare

DiffGuardianGitHub Copilot code review
Where it runsDesktop app for macOS, Windows and LinuxGitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, GitHub CLI, and IDEs (VS Code, Visual Studio, Xcode, JetBrains IDEs); also Azure DevOps in public preview [1]
Where code is sentYour choice per job — a local model (never leaves your machine) or your own cloud AI key sent directly to the provider; DiffGuardian's servers only handle sign-in, billing and statusTo GitHub's Copilot cloud service, billed as AI credits; GitHub's docs describe code review as using "a carefully tuned mix of models" without naming the provider, and say model switching isn't supported [1]
Bring your own keyYes, for cloud providers (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google Gemini, OpenRouter) — requires ProGitHub documents bring-your-own-key (your own key or a local model) for Copilot Chat, CLI, IDEs and the Copilot app — code review is not in that list [2]
Local/offline modelsYes — Ollama, LM Studio, llama.cpp and vLLM, on every plan, no internet requiredNot stated for code review
Git hosts supportedGitHub, GitLab, BitbucketGitHub; Azure DevOps in public preview. GitLab and Bitbucket are not listed [1]
Review styleGuided, feature-by-feature walkthrough ordered by risk, inside the desktop appPosts a review directly on the pull request, with suggested fixes you can apply in a couple of clicks [1]
Pricing modelFree Basic plan; Pro and Team per seatAvailable on paid Copilot plans (Pro, Pro+, Max, Business, Enterprise), not Free; each review consumes AI credits, which GitHub estimates at $0.05–$5 per review depending on effort [1]. Plan prices as listed on 2026-09-24: Pro $10, Pro+ $39, Max $100, Business $19, Enterprise $39 per user per month [3]

#Where GitHub Copilot code review is stronger

If your team already pays for a Copilot seat, code review is one setting away: it reviews pull requests directly on GitHub.com and GitHub Mobile, inside popular IDEs, and lets you apply a suggested fix in a couple of clicks without leaving the pull request [1]. There's no extra product to install or license for a GitHub-only team already on a paid Copilot plan — a different tradeoff than opening a separate desktop app per review.

#Limits

This comparison states only what GitHub publishes in its own Copilot documentation and pricing pages, accessed 2026-09-24. Where GitHub's docs don't say, the cell above reads "Not stated" rather than guessing.

#Sources

  1. About GitHub Copilot code review — accessed 2026-09-24
  2. Bring your own key for GitHub Copilot — accessed 2026-09-24
  3. GitHub Copilot plans and pricing — accessed 2026-09-24

FAQ

Do I need a separate DiffGuardian license if I already pay for GitHub Copilot?

Yes — they're separate products. Copilot code review is available on a paid Copilot plan (Pro, Pro+, Max, Business or Enterprise), and each review consumes AI credits. DiffGuardian is a separate desktop app with its own free Basic plan, and paid Pro and Team plans.

Does GitHub Copilot code review work with GitLab or Bitbucket?

GitHub's own documentation lists GitHub.com, and Azure DevOps in public preview, as where Copilot code review runs. GitLab and Bitbucket aren't in that list. DiffGuardian supports GitHub, GitLab and Bitbucket.

Can I point GitHub Copilot code review at my own AI model?

GitHub documents bring-your-own-key and local-model support for Copilot Chat, CLI, IDEs and the Copilot app, but code review isn't included in that list.

How much does GitHub Copilot code review cost?

It's available on paid Copilot plans (Pro, Pro+, Max, Business, Enterprise) — not the free plan. Each review also consumes AI credits, which GitHub estimates at $0.05–$5 depending on review effort. As listed on GitHub's pricing page on 2026-09-24, those plans cost $10, $39, $100, $19 and $39 per user per month respectively.