How does DiffGuardian compare to CodeRabbit?
Last updated October 5, 2026
DiffGuardian is a desktop app that helps you understand a pull request: it reads it against the whole repository, splits it into the features it ships, and lets you read it, hear it or see what it touches. CodeRabbit is a hosted bot that connects to your git host and posts automated review comments on the pull request itself. Tools like that find and flag problems for you; DiffGuardian is built to keep you in the code and help you understand it quickly.
#How they compare
| DiffGuardian | CodeRabbit | |
|---|---|---|
| Where it runs | Desktop app for macOS, Windows and Linux | Hosted service that connects to your git platform; also ships IDE extensions (VS Code, Cursor, Windsurf) and a CLI for pre-commit reviews [1] |
| Where code is sent | Your choice per job — a local model (never leaves your machine) or your own cloud AI key sent directly to the provider; DiffGuardian's servers only handle sign-in, billing and status | By default, to OpenAI and/or Anthropic "for reviewing purposes only"; CodeRabbit states it never uses your code to train its models [4] |
| Bring your own key | Yes, for cloud providers (Anthropic, OpenAI, Google Gemini, OpenRouter) — requires Pro | Not stated |
| Local/offline models | Yes — Ollama, LM Studio, llama.cpp and vLLM, on every plan, no internet required | Not stated |
| Git hosts supported | GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket | GitHub (GitHub.com and Enterprise Server), GitLab (GitLab.com and self-managed), Bitbucket (Cloud and Data Center), and Azure DevOps [2] |
| Review style | Guided, feature-by-feature walkthrough ordered by risk, inside the desktop app | Automated comments posted directly on the pull request — PR summaries, walkthroughs and line-by-line suggestions [1] |
| Pricing model | Free Basic plan; Pro and Team per seat | Free for public/open-source repositories; paid per-developer-per-month tiers (Essentials, Team, Advanced) billed monthly or annually — Essentials $30/$24, Team $60/$48, Advanced $90/$72 — plus a custom Enterprise plan [3] |
#Where CodeRabbit is stronger
CodeRabbit posts review comments automatically on every pull request across more git hosts than DiffGuardian covers today, including Azure DevOps and self-hosted GitHub Enterprise Server, GitLab and Bitbucket Data Center instances [2]. It also reviews code before it's even a pull request, from the command line or an IDE extension, and offers a free plan for public repositories [1][3]. A team that wants automatic PR comments on every host without installing a desktop app may prefer it for that reason.
#Limits
This comparison states only what CodeRabbit publishes in its own documentation and pricing pages, accessed 2026-09-24. Where CodeRabbit doesn't publish a fact we could find, the cell above reads "Not stated" rather than guessing.
#Sources
- CodeRabbit documentation home — accessed 2026-09-24
- CodeRabbit supported platforms — accessed 2026-09-24
- CodeRabbit pricing — accessed 2026-09-24
- CodeRabbit FAQ — data privacy and security — accessed 2026-09-24
FAQ
Is CodeRabbit a replacement for DiffGuardian?
Not necessarily. CodeRabbit is a hosted bot that comments on pull requests automatically across several git hosts. DiffGuardian is a desktop app you open to walk through a pull request feature by feature, with the riskiest parts flagged first.
Does CodeRabbit run on my own infrastructure?
CodeRabbit's Enterprise plan offers self-hosted CodeRabbit, and self-hosted customers can opt out of all data retention at any time. Its lower tiers are hosted by CodeRabbit.
Which git hosts does CodeRabbit support that DiffGuardian doesn't?
CodeRabbit adds Azure DevOps, plus self-hosted GitHub Enterprise Server, GitLab self-managed and Bitbucket Data Center. DiffGuardian supports GitHub, GitLab and Bitbucket.
Is CodeRabbit free?
It's free for public, open-source repositories. Private repositories need a paid plan, billed per developer per month, with a separate custom-priced Enterprise plan.